All political parties except PPP boycott vote recount in NA-249 by-election


KARACHI (News Desk) – All the political parties except Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) have boycotted vote recount in National Assembly (NA) constituency NA-249 by-elections, claiming that the seals of vote bags were broken.

The representatives and candidates of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) left the office of returning officer.

PTI candidate Amjad Iqbal Afridi and MQM-P’s Hafiz Mursaleen have demanded re-polling in the entire constituency.

The development came after ECP had accepted the plea of PML-N and ordered recount in NA-249 by-elections.

During the hearing, PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail had submitted the details of unsigned form 45 in the commission and requested to launch inquiry into the irregularities.

Vote recount was our first priority however, we can take further step if not get satisfied, he added.

He said that unverified forms 45 and 46 had made the election suspicious. Form 45 of 167 polling stations was without signatures while some polling agents also didn’t get form 46, PML-N candidate told.

Earlier on April 29, 2021, PPP won the by-election in NA-249 Karachi West-II.

According to unofficial results of all 276 polling stations, PPP candidate Qadir Khan Mandokhel had secured 16,156 votes to win the NA-249 Karachi West-II by-election. PML-N candidate Miftah Ismail got 15,473 votes to remain second.

Nazir Ahmed grabbed 11,126 votes and came third. PSP chief Mustafa Kamal got 9,227 votes to remain fourth. PTI candidate Amjad Afridi secured fifth position by obtaining 8,922 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here